Less Asking, More Doing

So I have a usual morning routine that involves making coffee for my husband. I don’t like coffee, so this is one of those “just for him” things that I do. It’s something he really appreciates, and he often says if my love had a scent, it would smell like coffee.

Anyhow, I usually ask if he wants coffee before I make it, as occasionally he doesn’t. New Year’s Day I was getting ready to ask first, but then stopped myself. Why was I asking if he wanted coffee?

I knew he probably would, and even if he didn’t, he would appreciate the gesture. I only make one cup, so it’s not like it would be a huge waste (and he’d probably reheat it if he didn’t want it right then). “Stop asking and just do,” I thought to myself.

And then I decided that would be my theme this year. I don’t do resolutions, but I do set goals. There are a few things I’ve been meaning to do, and I’ve decided to just do them. I don’t need permission, and I don’t need to wait until I have time, I just need to do.

So, this year I plan on actually learning how to play the ukulele I got for my birthday last year, and finding 5 minutes a day to meditate. And I’m going to stop asking if my husband (or anyone else) wants me to do a given task. If I think to do something for someone, I’m just going to do it.

